C25K W4D1

Found this on Pinterest, and I definitely should give myself this medal today! 🙂

20140322-212607.jpg

Oooh, this one was a challenge alright. I like the whole ease-into-it thing, but week four ain’t messin’ around — the first segment after the warmup is Three straight minutes of running, and the third is FIVE minutes!!! Oh lawdy!

So, the whole workout was: 5 min brisk warmup walk, 3 min jog, 1.5 min walk, 5 min jog, 2.5 min walk, 3 min jog, 1.5 min walk, 5 min jog, 5 min cool-down walk. Plus a little extra walking back to my house.

My lower leg was still a bit sore, but OK once I got going. I did apply some cooling-heating goo to it, which was stinky but helpful. Mentally I just had to go to my happy place and focus on my breathing. Cuz when I wasn’t doing that I was mentally muttering “oh gawd, whhhyyyyy, oh gawd” over and over. My phone stayed in my armband the whole time. I didn’t dare look at my app to see how much of an interval was left because I knew it would psyche me out. The running passes felt like FOREVER loooong before the app alerted me to change, so I knew looking would not help.

Oh, and I got thirsty for the first time. Not sure if it was the upping of the running times or that I got hotter than I have before, but I was really pissed the park water fountain was still off for winter.

It was not pretty at all. And seemingly not very fast either. It sure felt like slow motion. But, I just had to look at it as an endurance thing, not a speed thing. The most important thing is I didn’t quit and completed all the intervals. Wooooot!

And, my Runkeeper was happy for me and alerted me to some new personal records, so that made me feel good, too.

20140322-220715.jpg

Leave a comment