Now I’m paranoid about cleaning my toilet

My cat is obsessed with the toilet brush. You guessed it, we’re talking about Naughty Kitty here.

For years he barely paid it any notice. I kept it in the corner behind the toilet, in a little caddy with the opening for the brush turned toward the wall. He knew it was there, but just ignored it.

Then one day earlier this year he apparently discovered how awesome it was and fell in love with it.

At first I’d find it slightly moved, with the brush turned outward. Then I started to find it in the middle of the bathroom, lying on the floor. After I found the brush removed from the caddy, I started hiding it.

I stashed the caddy and brush in the cabinet under the sink. I thought, Out of sight, out of mind. Soon he’ll forget about it and I can casually set it back behind the toilet one day and he’ll never notice. It didn’t work out like that.

The cat learned to open the cabinet door. He breaks in to spend time with his toilet brush. Just let that sink in for a minute. …

Several times I’ve caught him in the act, crouching in the dark cabinet rubbing his face on the toilet brush. Most times I just see the evidence. I come home from work, the cabinet is open, the brush is missing a few more bristles. I get up in the morning and find that he couldn’t make it through the night without a toilet-brush fix.

Is there a meeting I can send him to? Are there 12 Steps To Recovering From Your Toilet Brush Obsession? “Hi, I’m Naughty Kitty, and I have a problem.”

Now, I’m paranoid about cleaning the toilet. I don’t want him to ingest any cleaning chemicals. I’m rinsing the brush, but I feel like I’m going to have to switch to a disposable cleaning system and cut the cat off from his brush. I fear the withdrawal is going to be rough for him. Bless his weird, naughty little heart.

7 thoughts on “Now I’m paranoid about cleaning my toilet

  1. haha…I think a love affair with a toilet brush is much better than my cat’s obsession with feet. We can not go outside with bare feet for fear of his cold, wet nose being being rubbed all over us. Oh, and he loves to put his head inside our shoes. Totally weird!

  2. OMG, what a sweet cat! Can you just let him have that brush and get yourself a new one and put it up high? We had a cat named Toonces years ago and she liked to nurse our bathroom rug. When we relocated, my husband threw it away. 😦 She was okay, but I still feel bad about that.

  3. That’s pretty funny. My dog likes to chew on the handle. We just put the whole thing on top of the tank and he’s too small and stupid to reach it now. I’m just glad my cat likes q-tips instead. We installed baby gates and locks all over the house 4 years before we had kids if that tells you anything…

Leave a Reply

