NaBloPoMo ~ Quotation

I’m starting my first NaBloPoMo today. There’s still time for you to do it too! ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t plan to follow the prompts every day, but I liked today’s query of favorite quotation and why.

I could list tons of those life things that get us all down, but if I had to pick the two things that come to mind the strongest when I read this quote, they are Depression and Infertility. I have experienced both separately and together. That is what rings in my mind as “wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow.”

But, these things are not all of life. Just to be here is, as she says, a grand thing, and so I try to post my Little Happy Things every so often to underscore this for myself and others.

Life is not only our huge struggles with the scary capital letters; it is all the tiny things we may not even think much about until our miseries kick us in the pants.

Life is roses, tender moments, a kind word. It is a bear hug,ย a conspiratorial wink with a child, a smile so big and true that your eyes nearly disappear. It is a warm pet sharing your bed, a hearty laugh with a friend, the smell of your favorite food cooking. It is being there for someone when they need you, and it is knowing that you also were blessed by your having done so.

And life is using our sorrowful things in a constructive way: To show someone they are not alone, that someone understands, and that in time they, too, will once again see living as a grand thing.

P.S. The presentation of my favorite quotation on my Royal Quiet De Luxe was inspired by desperately seeking {gina}, a fellow AWB blogger who also loves a vintage typewriter. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo ~ Quotation

  1. I totally agree. Just to be here. I keep repeating that to myself through all the bad things that keep happening and also- thinking about how things could be so much worse [and are for so many other people].

    btw…thanks for the mention ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love it! This reminds me of my challenge that I just did called 31 Days of Simple Joys. It was about blogging the little things in life that make us smile or give us a small sense of satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

