Domestic Diva-ing

The temperature has been dropping, and so all the outdoor vents needed to be closed for the fall and winter. As I was shuffling around the perimeter of my house in my flipflops, through patches of overgrown weeds and keeping one eye out for the neighbor’s pissed off dog that could easily scale the fence and eat me should he choose to do so, I was thinking about how all those little things I take for granted sure add up when my husband can’t do them.

(Normally I would have whined about it being chilly and sent him out to take care of the vents. OK, I’m not proud, but it’s true. Same with stacks of dirty dishes. The “not mine” chores.)

So with dishes and trash to take care of, and extra clothes to launder, it’s been busy but quiet the last two days. We’ve gone to a couple of Honey Bear’s doctor appointments, then spent most of the rest of the day and evening at home, chilling out, napping, doing chores and watching TV. I’ve done 6 loads of laundry. I did go out to taekwondo class last night, and the grocery store afterwards, and this led to something really strange happening: me cooking.

At the store I started feeling sorry for Honey Bear with his gimp foot (which is now infected, by the way, and he’s got antibiotics), so I bought him some of his favorite foods. I came home and made a big batch of chili, which he ate with Fritos and shredded cheddar last night, but he also has the option of chili dogs (I’m sweet, I know). Then, I made peanut butter cookies. OK, they were from a bagged mix, people, but I had to add, like, oil and water and stir and stuff! And sprinkles! 🙂 I also learned that I really, really love parchment paper. Normally everything sticks. It’s just my luck. Thank goodness I finally tried the parchment paper.

In the spirit of Halloween, I got a cake mix and made cupcakes tonight. With SPRINKLES with spiders!!! 🙂

My other unbiased product plug is foil cupcake liners. Just use a cookie sheet and forget about having to wash that dang muffin tin that is always burning shit regardless of how close you check it (wait, is that just me?…).

Also, today we went to Mellow Mushroom for the first time and split a pizza. His side: mozzarella, pepperoni, black olives, onions; My side: mozzarella, pepperoni, cucumbers, green peppers and feta. It was delicious. As a bonus, I enjoyed the glittery booths and “mellow” decor, and Honey Bear was digging the soundtrack: Beatles, Pink Floyd, Jefferson Airplane, Jimi Hendrix, etc.

… And now the dryer is dinging, and there are DVR’d shows to be watched. Laters.

Leave a Reply

