BLOGtober Fest – Fall Foodie Friday

If you know me in real life, you are probably laughing to see that I’m writing a food post. My friends know my 2-year-old oven practically still has that new-appliance smell. πŸ™‚

But, OK y’all, I do cook some, but it’s just more likely to involve some convenience products rather than from scratch. Fall is when I really start craving comfort foods, and one of my favorite things to make is mini-meatloaves.

My up-front disclosure: I shamelessly use the McCormick Meat Loaf seasoning mix and packaged bread crumbs. It’s the closest my poor Honey Bear gets to homemade. πŸ™‚

I’m not going to plagiarize the packet’s directions, hehe, but the general gist of the thing is: Take 2 pounds of lean ground beef or turkey (or I’ve previously used one pound of each to make it a little healthier but still retain the beef heartiness) and squish it up in a completely disgusting way (I recommend food-safe gloves) with eggs, milk, ketchup, bread crumbs and the seasoning mix. To shave 30 minutes off the cooking time, I make 8 mini-loaves instead of a single large one. The minis also are perfectly portioned to pack for your work lunch.

There’s not really a way to make a mound of meat look pretty, but here’s a photo anyway:

Mini meatloaves can be made even more fall-festive by topping them with ketchup, cheese, or onion pieces to look like laces on a football. Good for a NFL watch party or before your kid plays on Friday nights.

This week I served the meatloaves with baked beans (from a can), salad (from a bag) and corn muffins (from a Jiffy mix). If you really want to blow the top off of the comfort food thing, mac-and-cheese sounds like a heavenly pairing.

Advice: Line your casserole pan with foil. Even if you buy the leanest meat you can find, there will still be a puddle of fat at the bottom of the pan, and it just rocks so much more if you can throw that right in the trash rather than clean up that nastiness. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “BLOGtober Fest – Fall Foodie Friday

  1. This is a great meal! Family should allways be happy they aren’t getting cold cereal. BTW, I make my meatloaf nearly the same way only I use Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of the Meatloaf Seasoning. If we checked they are proably the same stuff.

  2. I used to make what I called meatloaf puckets. They were about as good as they sound, LOL. We now make meatloaves in well, loaves. In bread containers. We make three at a time and flavor each one differently. One we usually do regular ketchup, a second we use BBQ sauce and a third we use jalapeno ketchup. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I normally love meatloaf but absolutely nothing sounds good to me right now. Ugh, I can’t wait for the nausea to pass. Maybe I’ll try out your recipe once I’m feeling better. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

