BLOGtober Fest – Halloween Memories

My gramma sewed a lot of clothes for her grandchildren, and she made a lot of my Halloween costumes when I was a kid. When I was very little, she made a red-polka dotted clown costume. A little older and I was a flower, complete with red petals to go around my head. I was a witch with a black hat and a rubber, warty stick-on nose. In 6th grade I was a princess, with a pale blue gown and a cone hat with fabric draping down from the tip.

I remember having a few store-bought costumes as well. Snoopy for one. Another one was this, but for the life of me I can’t recall what this character was:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We lived in a rural area, so I didn’t have the door-to-door in the neighborhood trick-or-treating experience of a lot of kids. My sister and I dressed up and went to visit our cousins and our grandparents. Gramma usually gave us fruit for our buckets. Sometimes our parents drove us to some of their friends’ houses to get a little candy, but we all had a lot of allergies, so our candy choices were limited.

I remember going to several Fall Festivals at my mom’s church, where there were a lot of games and booths set up for winning candy prizes. At my dad’s church I remember bobbing for apples and having punch and snacks.

I haven’t done a lot on Halloween as an adult, I’ve usually had to work. I did try to get my cats to wear a funny pet hat once, but they really hated me for it. 🙂

5 thoughts on “BLOGtober Fest – Halloween Memories

  1. What a fun post! I grew up in a rural community too and my parents would drive my sisters and I around to the neighbors’ houses trick-or-treating. Sometimes the neighbors were 25 miles away…we would start early in the afternoon. 😉

Leave a Reply

