The bitter in the sweet

It’s birthday time. Not mine, but the children I love most. My goddaughter, nephew and cousin all have birthdays within a 4-week period. There is also a baby due soon on Honey Bear’s side of the family, and the girl I previously wrote about announcing her pregnancy and baby name (my name) on FB just delivered her daughter. So, what does this all mean? Well, nothing generally speaking. To me it just marks the passing of more time. All the children who were conceived and born while I have been TTC are another year older. It means shopping for presents in sections of stores I try not to go into otherwise, and in the process seeing adorable little items I still have no need of purchasing. It’s fun to pick out princess or superhero stuff, things that I hope will bring smiles to the faces of my little people, and at the same time it sucks. It is parties and cake and celebrations of growing. It also is another year gone. It is what it is – sweet and bitter, bitter and sweet.

*****

In Crafty Crazy Cat Lady news, I made a pillow for my cats’ basket. It is mostly for Good Kitty, as she sleeps in the basket the most, but Naughty Kitty has been known to squish his giant self in there too on occasion.

I know, it really is crazy-cat-lady-esque to be sewing shit for your cats. But what else am I supposed to do with such adorable fabric! But if I start making blankets or anything for them, y’all please intervene. … Maybe at that point the universe would take pity on me and give me a kid that I would then have no time to sew for… I’d be cool with that.

4 thoughts on “The bitter in the sweet

  1. Love it! I do the same stuff with my dogs. Until I have real kids, they are my kids…. To anyone that wants to tell me otherwise… They can fuck off!

    Your comment about all of the children born while you have been fighting the fight, hit home with me. I dont so much mind the first round of children… It’s those second and third babies that sting the most.

  2. Hi from ICLW. I love that fabric! IF I was any good at sewing, I would totally something like that for our dog…or for my mom’s cats. She’s a crazy cat lady, too! 🙂

    And I’m so sorry about what you’re going through. I’ve had to shop for a few baby things recently for gifts and it’s not easy to walk down those aisles. Hoping for peace, strength, and a miracle for you.

Leave a Reply

