Muy bueno

“Jesus is muy bueno,” Jose says to me. He then ticks off his blessings with a big smile on his face. He includes the meal on the plate in front of him at the soup kitchen where I’m volunteering. He adds his life to this list. Life is very good, he says. He tells me a good shop to buy at a discount, and he proudly tells me he’s a Christian and where his church is. He tells me he likes to keep busy, working and volunteering, but he has to save some time to read his Bible. Later I find him washing dishes and whistling, and even later changing out the large garbage can liners with that huge smile of his.

I get the feeling that everything is muy bueno to him, and I think how muy bueno it is that he was my reminder of that today.

One thought on “Muy bueno

Leave a Reply

