M & N

A little late on my M post because I was traveling, so you get a 2-fer today. 🙂

M is for massage. Last year I started treating myself to regular massages as part of an effort to do more nice things for myself while undergoing infertility procedures. I signed up at a place where I pay a monthly fee that gets me one massage a month with the option to add additional massages for a reduced price. While at first I was resistant to sign up and make the commitment, I have enjoyed it, and having the fee taken out of my bank account regardless motivates me to not put off the massages and get my money’s worth. There are 2 massage therapists that I prefer at that clinic. One of them is a Native American guy who does energy work and somehow has gotten rid of my headaches without even touching me prior to my massages. So awesome. Obviously the massages are relaxing, and give me something to look forward to.

N is for novels. There is nothing like getting caught up in a good book. Some of my favorite novels are The Color Purple by Alice Walker, On the Road and The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding, most Agatha Christie mysteries, The Awakening by Kate Chopin, and The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan.

More recent fiction selections I’ve enjoyed include The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See, and Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’easter by Lisa Patton.

A few novels that had an eye-opening effect on me were Fear of Flying by Erica Jong, The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien, Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, and The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison.

I tried reading Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy several times and always quit because it is so long and verbose. But it is also very good and so, determined to finish it, I’ve been reading it in daily emailed installments from DailyLit.com.

6 thoughts on “M & N

  1. Thanks for the book recommendations! I’ve been on a search for a few good ones to see me through the next few weeks after retrieval/transfer. A few of my all time faves, if you’re interested: Ahab’s Wife, A Soldier of the Great War by Mark Helprin (long, but great story and reads like poetry- very talented author), The Crimson Petal and the White by M.Faber (so good), A Natural History of the Senses (nonfiction, beautiful and so interesting) by Diane Ackerman, and recently I enjoyed Unbroken and Cutting for Stone.

    You made me want to go get a massage today! 🙂

  2. Oh, you’ve got some great books listed!

    Anna Karenina could have been 300 pages (and, IMO, a much better book) instead of 800 if it had been written all at once instead of serialized. I read it in high school, and then read it again for a book club about two years ago. It was even harder to get through the second time, because I’m less patient now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

