K is for kitties

My kitties are my babies. I limit myself to 2. Mostly so I don’t reach crazy cat lady status. ๐Ÿ™‚

I sort of accidentally became a cat person. I never had any cats growing up, and only outside dogs. My family was allergic to practically everything, indoors and outdoors, so it was pretty much just goldfish and gerbils. In college a friend took in a stray cat, and that cat became mine after I graduated and moved to an apartment. It wasn’t but a month or 2 before I adopted a second cat from a shelter.

Sadly, I had to put that first cat to sleep at about age 5 when his kidneys suddenly failed. I didn’t get to spend as much time with that cat as I’d have liked. It was a very sad time for me. But if not for him, I probably would not have ever had cats, so he sort of taught me all about being a good cat mom.

That second cat I mentioned is still alive and kicking. She is my Good Kitty, and she’s about 11 now. She’s got chronic kidney failure (not the acute kind that killed my first cat), but with care she has been living pretty well with it for several years. Good Kitty is a shy mama’s girl. She comes when she’s called, and she really hates getting into trouble. My husband would describe her as spoiled. ๐Ÿ™‚ She likes laying on me, sleeping on my head, following me around, and pretty much anything else that involves being with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

And then there’s Naughty Kitty, who will be 6 years old this summer. He’s goofy, big, kinda dopey, hilarious, and pretty much exactly opposite of Good Kitty. He knows his name but refuses to respond. He scratches things he knows he’s not supposed to. When he gets in trouble, he’s like, whatever. Just all-around ornery. But he’s also so funny because he does atypical cat things, like lets you pick him up and basically hold him any weird way you want to including upside down and he’s totally cool with it. He gets scared of inanimate objects and turns sideways with his hair poofed out. And sometimes he puts his crazy pants on andย  just runs around the house hollering for no reason. ๐Ÿ™‚

OK, any other crazy kitty mamas or daddies out there?

2 thoughts on “K is for kitties

  1. Oh my goodness, I love The Boo (my cat)!! I have no idea what I did without her! She went from being our ‘trial baby’ to my obsession so quickly. She’s so warm, cuddly and friendly. Is it sad that I’m teaching her to talk?

Leave a Reply

