D is for deviled eggs

Yummmmmmy. Deviled eggs. That staple of family gatherings and potlucks. I am too lazy to make them very often, but when I do put in the time they are a delicious treat. I enjoy eating several varieties of deviled eggs, but when I make them I always use the same recipe.

Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook recipe for deviled eggs:

Ingredients

6 hard-cooked eggs
1/4 cup mayonnaise or salad dressing
1 teaspoon prepared mustard
1 teaspoon vinegar
Paprika or parsley sprigs (optional)

Directions

Halve hard-cooked eggs lengthwise and remove yolks. Set whites aside. Place yolks in a small bowl; mash with a fork. Add mayonnaise, mustard, and vinegar; mix well. If desired, season with salt and black pepper. Stuff egg white halves with yolk mixture. Cover and chill until serving time (up to 24 hours). If desired, garnish with paprika or parsley. Makes 12 servings.

The Better Homes and Gardens website also lists some variations to this recipe that you can find here.

What ingredients do you use in making deviled eggs?

3 thoughts on “D is for deviled eggs

  1. Now I’m hungry! I make mine about the same way but I add a bit of dill to mine. I ran out of paprika & thought what the heck….now I use it every time :). Have fun with the A to Z!

  2. I just LOVE deviled eggs. I could eat piles of them but don’t because they’re time consuming to make, and if I go somewhere and see them served, of course I have to restrain myself. I use these ingredients but also like a little pickle added, preferably dill but a sweet relish can be good, too.

Leave a Reply

