A is for art

I recently decided after a few random entries to post weekly LHT (little happy things) entries. Then I decided to do the A to Z Challenge, so now you get a whole month (and alphabet) of my little happy things. We start with art.

Art I love — Georgia O’Keeffe’s flowers, pop art, Tiffany windows, Madonna and Child works, Impressionism, art nouveau, Picasso. The list could get really long. 🙂

Anytime my husband and I go on a vacation, no matter how short a trip or how close to home, I always try to squeeze in a visit to an art museum. I love exploring new museums and new art, but I also really enjoy visiting favorites when I make a return visit.

Just a tiny sampling of my “old friends”:

The Old Guitarist by Pablo Picasso at the Art Institute of Chicago

Water Lilies by Claude Monet at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art

The Shepherdess by William-Adolphe Bouguereau at The Philbrook Museum of Art

The Reader by Mary Cassatt and   Cattleya Orchid, Two Hummingbirds and a Beetle by Martin Johnson Heade and Still Life with Mirror by Roy Lichtenstein at Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art

What is your favorite artist, artwork or art museum?

4 thoughts on “A is for art

  1. I’ve always been in love with the work of Charles Francis Goldie and Gottfried Lindauer. who both did exceptionally beautiful oil paintings.

Leave a Reply

