Book Nerd

I love to read, but sometimes I struggle to complete a book, or I don’t start reading anything at all. I’ll get really into a book, and then abandon it partway through for no reason that I can explain. Sometimes it is hard for me to read with other noises in the room or even the background, especially the TV. I haven’t made myself a comfortable reading nook that has the silence I need, so I tend to just wait until I am alone in the house to read.

Anyway, as my friend Alli said, “Stella’s got her reading groove back.” I’ve torn through 2 books in no time at all, and I’m halfway through a third. I found Provenance: How a Con Man and a Forger Rewrote the History of Modern Art by happy accident at the library and finished reading it within a day. It was written by Laney Salisbury and Aly Sujo. I recommend it if you like art, art history or true crime. It really is amazing the depth of the con. And it raises questions about how we value art.

The second book that I essentially ate in the last week is Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier. I stayed up until 5 a.m. to finish this book in a total of about 6 hours. It is a fictionalized account of a young maid in the house of the Dutch painter Johannes Vermeer and how she came to be the model for his famous painting. A good read.

I’m in the middle of Bossypants by Tina Fey. She is funny as always. I’ve gotten to the part where she is writing about performing with The Second City. However, if you are hoping for details on her facial scar, you’re not going to get any.

2 thoughts on “Book Nerd

Leave a Reply

