Not lookin’ good

My IUI was 2 Thursdays ago, and I had negative HPTs yesterday and today. So, it’s lookin’ like a no. Going off the Prometrium today to allow the progesterone levels to drop back down so I can get my period. Then, we start all over.

The plan for IUI #2 remains about the same. Only difference this time to start with is Clomid on days 3-7 instead of 5-9, because last time we were trying to delay to get past the holiday weekend. I talked to Nurse H today, and luckily I can just call her on day 7 to schedule the follicle check ultrasound. This saves me a pointless doctor’s appointment to discuss the same thing, thus saving me money.

It is all a little sad, but not depressing or anything. Perhaps I might feel worse about it when I actually start my period and know for sure, when it seems more real. I dunno, we’ll see. I was trying not to let myself get too excited about it to begin with. The first cycle that I did Clomid-only back in the fall, I just KNEW that it would work. It had worked the FIRST TIME for several people I had talked to. One even had CLOMID TWINS!  MIRACLE DRUG! Etc. And it really sucked hard when it didn’t, so I was guarding myself more with this. Regardless, there is still some expectation that it would work. If there wasn’t, why would I do it? So, it still blows. How could it not?

Regardless, Honey Bear and I have had a pretty nice day. We went to lunch, got coffee and did some shopping. We bought a charcoal grill, and I picked out some blue-flowered summer plates for using out on the deck. I weeded the flower beds and assessed my yard and plants after the morning rainstorm.

Lately I’ve been catching up on reading the last few books in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, and I’m on the long library waiting list for The Help, which everyone keeps telling me I must read. Saturday was good times at Alli’s birthday shindig, and Shan came to town. Mid-week G and I went to see the Jane Eyre movie and loved it.

So…. I would love for you to leave a comment or send me a message if you wish, but please do not call me. I don’t really have much else to say about it. It probably failed, it sucks, what else is there.

4 thoughts on “Not lookin’ good

  1. Im sorry it didnt work meggie. i love you.
    by the way, could you tell me about the series you are reading…do you think i would like it? Thanks.
    Robyn

  2. You might like it. It is a mystery series but not a traditional one. The first one is called The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, written by Alexander McCall Smith. 2 last names so look in the Ms not the Ss.

  3. I freaking lucked out on that first time/twins thing. I know it’s not the same way for most people. Hang in there! I know all this is a lot of work and is really hard on your mind and body.

  4. Thanks, Heidi! And you know, people take that medicine in different situations too so sometimes it is more effective than others depending on what is going on. and it is all so unpredictable anyway. The Clomid was just one of those things that I let myself get excited about as some kind of cure-all and I try not to do that as much anymore.
    P.S. Love checkin in on you guys on your blog. The babies aren’t looking much like babies anymore!

Leave a Reply

